High End Contouring Routine

I posted a photo on my Instagram about a posting a contouring routine and it seemed to get a positive response! I find my go-to contouring routine is using high end products but I do have a routine using drugstore products as well – let me know if you guys want to see that routine!

After my foundation routine, I begin to contour my face (obviously). My current go-to shade for contouring is the Contour shade from the Smashbox Master Class 3 Palette. I use the Royal and Langnickel Revolution Highlight Contour brush to start contouring by carving out my cheek bones. This brush is a dupe for the NARS Ita Brush, and does an amazing job at applying and blending out the contour colour. I use this brush to apply this contour powder in the hollows of my cheeks, my temples, my jaw line and occasionally my nose.

Now that I’ve contoured to create the appearance of a slimmer face, I use bronzer to create a healthy glow. I use the Benefit Hoola Bronzer and the Real Techniques Blush Brush to apply the product in the classic 3-E technique. This technique places the bronzer in places that the sun would naturally hit. Don’t forget to bring the bronzer down onto your neck a little bit so it doesn’t look so artificial – I find that this trick helps blend my foundation into my skin, especially if my foundation is a little bit too dark for my skin. If I’m using a foundation that is slightly lighter then my skin, I take the bronzer on the Real Techniques Blush Brush and lightly dust it all over my face.

My blush depends on the day but recently I have been loving MAC’s Cream Soda blush from the Archie Collection. I apply my blush using the Sigma F40 Large Angled Contour Blush and blend the colour from the apples of my cheeks up to my temples.

The final step is highlighter. I first use the  highlighter in the Smashbox Master Class 3 Palette and apply it underneath the hollows of my cheeks to help accentuate my cheekbones even more. I love this highlighter as it is matte and yellow toned – I feel that this highlighter is similar to the Anastasia Contour Powder in Banana! I switch between MAC’s MSF in Soft and Gentle and Benefit’s Girl Meets Pearl as the highlighter for the tops of my cheek bones. When using Soft and Gentle, I use the e.l.f. Small Tapered Brush to sweep the product onto the tops of my cheekbones. Because Girl Meets Pearl is a cream product, I find using my fingers is the best way to apply it. I twist up the product from the packaging, pick up a little bit on my finger and tap the highlighter on the tops of my cheekbones.

Please let me know if you have any requests for new posts and don’t forget to follow me on Instagram and Twitter!

xoxo,
Melissa


One thought on “High End Contouring Routine

What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

