Neutral Night Out Makeup: A Tutorial

Before I get started on this makeup look, I wanted to apologize for not posting for the past week. I wasn’t in the right mind set to write a post and I really did not want to post something if I wasn’t putting in all of my effort. But now I’m back and ready to create some great posts for all of you!

As you can tell from the title, this post is going to be a tutorial on a very neutral night out makeup look that I did for my friend this past weekend (shoutout to Sophie for letting me feature her in a post!!!). I hope you all enjoy and let’s get started.

First, I primed the eyes using the MAC Paint in Bare IMG_5435Canvas. I used a concealer brushto blend the product from the base of the lash line all of the way up to under the brow bone to ensure that any shadows I applied on top would stay all day. All of the shadows I used were from the A Few of My Favourite Things palette by Too Faced. I took Chocolate Milk (a tan) and applied this all over the lid and into the crease. I then used Woolen Mittens (a darker neutral brown) and used a domed crease brush to place this in the outer half of the crease. Using a fluffy blending brush, I blended the colour all through out the crease. I lined the eyes using a black gel liner and then applied mascara. I used a lot of mascara in order to create intensity around the eyes. Usually, this intensity and drama would come from shadow but my friend wanted that very neutral and minimal shadow so as I said, I used mascara instead to make the makeup more night time appropriate. Finally for the eyes, I used the ELF Brow Kit in Medium on a stiff angled brush to fill in her brows and then I set the brows using the ELF Brow Gel.

IMG_5440To start off the face, I applied a mattifying primer only to the t-zone area, as my friend has drier skin. I colour corrected any redness and discolouration using a cream concealer. I then applied foundation all over her face, using a stippling brush. I used a lighter concealer shade to highlight her face and then contoured using a powder bronzer. I applied a coral blush to the apples of her cheeks, but my friend did not love the colour so I used a nude blush over top in order to dilute the orange tone. To set everything and lock it in place, I used a fluffy brush and translucent powder.

I hope you guys enjoyed this tutorial and are looking forward to more posts soon! Please don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

xoxo,
Melissa


What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

