Dark Matte Smokey Eye Tutorial

IMG_5482As per usual, I primed my face with my Urban Decay Primer Potion – my holy grail primer! I then took out my Smashbox Master Class 3 Palette (probably my favourite palette in my collection as it has tons of shadows, 3 blushes, 2 bronzers/contour powders and 1 highlight powder) and used this for basically my entire look. Although this was a holiday palette, it still is available for purchase on Sephora’s website – click here to take a look! I used Nectar (a peachy nude)  as my lid colour to add some brightness to the look, as the rest of the eyes are dark. I packed on a generous amount so the colour really pops. Using a tapered blending brush, I used Pebble (a browny-grey) in the crease to add depth. I kept building up the colour until I was happy with the result. Before I went in with a black shadow I wanted to highlight, so to do so I used Naked under my brow bone and in my inner corner. This palette contains 2 black shadows – one matte and one with glitter. I used the matte black called Royal on a dense domed brush to apply the colour into my crease and outer-v. This shadow is super pigmented so you only need to tap your brush into it. I went back with the tapered blending brush to blend out the black shadow to ease the transition between the previous shadow I applied into the crease. As you can see from the accompanied pictures, I did not blend out this shadow as well as I should have on one eye but everyone makes mistakes (everyone has those days…. throwback to Hannah Montana) To finish off the eyes, I applied my classic Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper and the Buxom Lash Mascara.

IMG_5476I then contoured my face (check out my contour routine here) and used Carnation blush from the Master Class 3 palette on the apples of my cheeks. My lips felt very dry this day so I decided to just add a little bit of lip balm but you can for sure add any sort of lip to this neutral look.

Please let me know what you want to see next on this blog and don’t forget to follow me on all my social media for updates!

xoxo,
Melissa


What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

