Makeup Recreation: Kylie Jenner

Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 12.50.54 PMKylie Jenner is for sure one of my makeup inspirations (like she always looks flawless) and this looks she wore in this Instagram she posted a day or two before the Forth of July is no exception! Kylie is rocking a mostly matte smokey eye with a bit of shimmer on the inner corner and then a matte plummy-mauve lip. In a typical Kardashian fashion, Kylie’s face is bronzed, contoured and highlighted to the max. After seeing this photo, I could not help but recreate it – keep reading to see my recreation of this beautiful look!

IMG_5737As per usual, I primed my lid with the Urban Decay Primer Potion but also primed the lower lash line. I started the shadow by using Nude from the Smashbox Master Class 3 Palette as my transition colour through out my crease. I began building up the crease with Pebble from the same palette, and then used this shade on the outer 3/4 of the lid. Using a large pencil brush, I applied Sumatra from the Master Class 3 Palette in the outer half of my crease and blended it out. Taking Nectar, I applied this on the inner 1/4 of my lid as well as under my brow bone as a highlight. I next began to work on the lower lash line and applied Nude, Pebble and Sumatra going from the inner to outer corner. The last step to finishing off this eyeshadow is to apply the pop of glitter on the inner 1/4 of the lid. I used the second pigment in the Naked Cosmetics Pigment Stack in Sierra Nevada on a dampened Q-Tip to apply this pigment.

Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 1.56.58 PMKylie has her waterline lined with a black
liner so I am using the e.l.f. Cream Liner in Black on my waterline and tight line and then lined my upper lash line with the Kat Von D liquid liner. I did not have any false lashes when recreating this look so I just loaded my top and bottom lashes with 2 mascaras.

After applying foundation and concealing my blemishes, it was time to highlight. I used the Boing Concealer by Benefit under my eyes, on the bridge of my nose, on my cupids bow, down my chin and on my forehead. I used a translucent powder by Tarte on a sponge to let the product bake. I contoured my cheek bones, temples, nose and jawline using the Contour shade in the Master Class 3 palette (surprise, surprise!) and then used Benefit’s Bronzer to bronze the perimeter of my face. For blush, I used the Milani Baked Blush in Bellissimo to stick with the bronzy theme. Finally, I dusted off the translucent powder and revealed a super bright highlight.

IMG_5697Kylie and I have very different brow shapes so I just lightly filled mine in. The last thing to do is lips. Kylie’s lips are a matte plumish-mauve colour, which is a colour I do not have so I made do and created my own colour. I first applied the Kardashian Beauty Au Natural Lipstick to my lips and then I patted and blended in the eyeshadow in Nooner from the Naked 3 palette. This created the perfect colour that is very similar to the lipstick Kylie is rocking in the picture she posted!

The main difference between my recreation of Kylie’s makeup look is that Kylie wore more of a cut crease shadow where as I blended and smoked out the crease. Personally, I feel like blending out my crease suits my eye-set more the the cut crease look does. Makeup is an art form and although my recreation is not spot on, I tailored Kylie’s look to suit my face and preferences! I hope you guys enjoyed this recreation and please let me know who’s look you would like me to recreate next.

xoxo,
Melissa


What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

