Antique Gold: A Makeup Tutorial

IMG_6593I was experimenting with different products while doing my makeup the other day and fell head over heels in love with the result so I felt the need to share it with you all.

After priming my lids, I applied the Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Mossy Green all over the lid. I then pulled out my Naked palette and used Buck in the crease (I know, I know… so basic, but like I love this shade in the crease!!). I then used a stiff shader brush to apply Half Baked all over the lid. I love the way this looks over the green cream shadow as it creates an antiqued/old gold look. To darken up the eye makeup, I used Darkhorse on a stiff, domed shaped brush and applied this in the outer corner. I then took a fluffy blending brush and used Naked to blend out the edges of the dark shadow. I then used a concealer to clean up the outer corners and create a sharp edge, and then used Naked again to help diffuse this. On the lower lashline, I smudged a tiny bit of Hollow, from the NYX Contour Kit, and blended it out with Naked to give it a more diffused look. I then finished my eyes with my classic combo – the Kat Von D Liner in Trooper, Maybelline’s the Rocket Mascara and Benefit’s Gimme Brow for my brows.

IMG_6594After applying my foundation routine, I brought out my NYX Contour Kit and contoured my nose and cheekbones using Sculpt and Tan. To highlight, I used the shade Soft Light on the tops of my cheekbones and on the bridge of my nose. I then applied Benefit’s Hervana blush on the apples of my cheeks to add some colour back into my face. To finish off the look, I wanted to go with a neutral lip so nothing takes away from the dramatic eyes. I decided to go with the Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle as it is that classic “my lips but better” shade.

Let me know what your fall makeup looks like by tagging me in your Instagram photos! Use the hashtag #melissahoffmanbeauty or tag me @melissahoffmanbeauty to allow me to see your looks!

xoxo,
Melissa


What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

