How I Cover Intense Breakouts

Usually my acne isn’t too bad so my typical foundation routine (which is still heavy duty) suffices but during those times when I get more than a few blemishes I like to step up my game, if you will. For some of you my bad acne may be nothing and for others this may be the worst acne you ever had, please keep in mind that everyone’s skin is different and this is my acne at a very bad point. I know the images of my breakouts are quite small but my acne is something that I am very self conscious about, so I hope you all understand.

IMG_6958IMG_6957The first thing I’ll do, after priming my face of course, is going in with a green concealer to counteract any redness that may be on my face. I take the Green Coverstick Corrector by Maybelline on the back of my hand and then use the F70 Concealer brush from Sigma to pat this onto any red blemishes I have. The point of this is not to make blemishes look like they’re not there, but rather make them appear less red which will make it easier for my skin toned concealer to make it look like these blemishes never existed. To cover up the green, I use another cream concealer. I am using the Benefit Boing Concealor in 01 on another F70 brush and am going over all of the areas I applied the green to. This councealor may not totally cover up the green but I want the green to be as covered up as possible before I apply my foundation.

IMG_6979I am using my everyday foundation, Estee Lauder Double Wear, but I am using a duo fibre brush to apply it instead of my usual beautyblender. I want to use the lightest amount of foundation possible as I am applying a lot of product which can make my face feel heavy, and I feel that using a duo fibre brush allows me to apply the lightest layer of foundation out of all my brushes/tools. I dip my brush in the product and bounce it all over face until everything is seamlessly blended into my skin. I go in with my Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer to further diminish the appearance of my blemishes. I then pat the Tarte Amazonian Clay Powder into my skin using a dense buffing brush in order to provide a little more coverage and set everything. To finish off my face makeup, I use the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light to assist in blurring any imperfections.

Do you guys have a heavy-duty foundation routine for blemishes? Let me know in the comments down below!

xoxo,

Melissa


What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

