Beauty on a Budget: The Best Inexpensive Products

I know from experience that makeup can get so expensive (I went to the drugstore to buy 4 products and spend over $50!) but experimenting with new products is so much fun! Although it may seem like you have to hit up Sephora or Ulta and get high end or expensive products in order to get the best quality, the drugstore does cary some absolutely fabulous products that do not cost a fortune.

In this post, I will be discussing my favourite inexpensive/drugstore makeup products in each category (foundation, powder, etc.) that I have one in. Be sure to look at the end of this post to see product photos and leave your favourite drugstore beauty products in the comments below because I’d love to try them!

Foundation – Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1
This foundation is a medium coverage that is totally buildable to full coverage. I love applying this with a BeautyBlender, as it helps the foundation blend in to the skin smoothly. I find that this foundation lasts longer than some of my high end foundations without wearing a primer! The packaging also has a pump, which is a plus!

Concealer – Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer
This concealer by Collection is so full coverage – it covers everything from red zits to under eye circles. Sometimes I wear this all over my face as a foundation because it looks so nice on the skin.

Contour – Wet n Wild Contouring Palette in Dulce De Leche
There are so many amazing things I can say about this contour palette! The contour shade is the perfect ashy brown colour that all contouring done using this product looks so natural. The new formula is incredible blendable – even if you apply to much you are able to blend it out to look natural. I also love how large the pan is because you get so much product for such a low cost!

Highlighter – Sleek Contour Kit in Light
I prefer the contour powder in the Wet n Wild palette, but the highlighter in this Sleek one is incredible! It is a shimmery peach powder that I would say is a dupe for MAC’s Soft and Gentle Mineralized Skin Finish.

Powder Blush – Joe Fresh Blush in Rose
I have only tried the shade Rose from the shade range, but the formulation is so great! The powder is really pigmented and lasts so long on the skin – at the end of the day, my blush looks just as great as when I first applied it. I want to try the rest of the shades in this line because this one is fantastic.

Cream Blush – Maybelline Master Glaze Blush
I love the stick formulation of this blush because it makes the application so easy. It’s so easy to just swipe the product on the cheeks, or swirl a brush on the stick and apply it that way. I find that you don’t need to set this blush with a powder because once it dries, it feels almost powdery.

Eye Primer – ELF Eye Primer
This primer was the first one I tried because it is so affordable, and I still keep one in my collection. It is colourless and has sort of a greasy consistency but this consistency goes away once the product is blended out on the eye. It keeps my shadow in place and without creasing all day long, and is only $1!

Eye Shadow – L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadow
These shadows are my favourite because they are super pigmented and apply so nicely on the eye. All of the shades I own are metallic, and look great when used wet or dry. The one downside to this product is that it is a pressed pigment so ensure to keep the grey cap that comes inside the product or else pigment will fly everywhere!

Liquid Eyeliner – ELF Felt Tip Liner
This felt tip liner is $1, and I think is just as great as other higher end liners on the market. This liquid liner is very black and does not dry out very easily. The pointed tip does tend to ball up after a little bit but I don’t mind as the liner is very affordable.

Gel Eyeliner – ELF Cream Liner
I know people love the Maybelline and L’Oreal Gel Liners but I have never tried either of those. The ELF Cream Liner is so black and so creamy that it is so easy to apply, and you only need one layer in order for it to be opaque. It also sets very quickly so it doesn’t smudge.

Mascara – Maybelline Mascara’s
There are so many different Maybelline mascaras that I love, so I couldn’t pick just one! Some of my favourites are The Rocket, LashSensational and MegaPlush. I find that these provide my lashes so much volume as well as a decent amount of length. I highly recommend trying out Maybelline mascara’s if you have never tried them!

Lipstick – NYX High Voltage Lipstick
These lipsticks are so glossy, pigmented and opaque! They are also very slim, which makes them easy to apply on the lips.

Liquid Lipstick – ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip in Beeper
I know ColourPop isn’t technically at the drugstore, but they do have drugstore prices. These Ultra Matte Lips are so matte and actually do stay on all day. Beeper is my favourite colour that I have, as I love browny nudes. I have a darker shade (LAX) that is a bit patchier when I apply it, but the lighter shades are a 10/10!! Even though they are matte, they don’t dry out my lips which I love!

Jumbo Lip Pencil – Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm
I love jumbo lip pencils because they make applying lipstick so easy! These Matte Balm’s also stain the lips so when the product wears off, the lips are not left bare. I also love the minty scent these have as well as that tingling sensation once the product is applied on the lips.

Lipgloss – Maybelline ColourSensational High Shine Lip Gloss
These lip glosses by Maybelline are very pigmented, which I find is rare in a gloss. They are also very thick, which I like because they provide a nice smooth finish on the lips.

So those are my favourite “Beauty on a Budget” products! Please let me know your favourite inexpensive products in the comments!

xoxo,
Melissa

 

Note: None of these images belong to me. Links to the sources are below.

Covergirl Foundation: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=167149/Outlast-Stay-Fabulous-3-in-1-Foundation/Cover-Girl/Liquid

Collection Concealer: http://www.collectioncosmetics.co.uk/products/face/concealer/lasting-perfection-concealer

Wet n Wild Contour Palette: http://www.wetnwildbeauty.com/face/highlight-contour/mega-glo-contouring-palette.html

Sleek Contour Kit: http://www.sleekmakeup.com/face-contour-kit-light

Joe Fresh Blush: http://www1.shoppersdrugmart.ca/en/Beauty/Makeup/Blush/details/058703222168

Maybelline Blush: http://www.maybelline.co.nz/products/face-makeup/blush/master%20glaze%20blush%20stick.aspx

ELF Eye Primer: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=126146/Essential-Eyelid-Primer—Sheer/E.L.F./Eye-Primer

L’Oreal Eyeshadow: http://www.drugstore.com/loreal-paris-infallible-eyeshadow-iced-latte/qxp389229

ELF Felt Tip Liner: http://www.elfcosmetics.com/p/waterproof-eyeliner-pen

ELF Cream Liner: http://intl.target.com/p/e-l-f-studio-cream-eyeliner/-/A-14414958

Maybelline Mascara: http://www.boots.com/en/Maybelline-Lash-Sensational-Lash-Multiplying-Mascara-9-5ml_1655586/

NYX Lipstick: http://www.nyxcosmetics.ca/en_CA/high-voltage-lipstick/NYX_177.html?cgid=lipstick#start=10&cgid=lipstick

ColourPop Liquid Lipstick: https://colourpop.com/product/beeper/

Revlon Jumbo Lip Pencil: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=166526/Colorburst-Matte-Balm-(All-Shades)/Revlon/Lips

Maybelline Lip Gloss: https://coffeeandmakeup.com/maybelline-color-sensational-high-shine-gloss-review-on-lip-swatches/


One thought on “Beauty on a Budget: The Best Inexpensive Products

What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

